A good night in a messy mess

Tuesday, Aug. 10, 2004 at 11:01 p.m.

Today was an OK day for as shitty as the week started off. ((note to self: Call Jenn, Jordo, and Becca))

Mom and I went to see U.B. after I got out of work today... They moved him from Albany Med to the VA Hospital, which in itself was a trip. For starters, we got there past 6pm, and there's all these strict security procedures... buzzing the door and talking thru the intercom... signing in and out... the voice that booms over the loudspeaker and scares the crap out of you, because then you realize that the voice is a guy behind the somewhat mirrored window across the way, but it sounds like it's the Voice Of God almost. *shudder* Plus, the elevators ding and say, "Going uuuuuuuup" and "Going dooooooooown" all weird like, and Mom just kind of looks at me and goes, "It's no wonder people are freakin' crazy in here." I couldn't agree more.

Long story short, they wouldn't let us see U.B. Unstable, confused, aggitated were the words used ot describe. I don't really feel like going into much detail, 'cause much as I love you all, with a very VERY few slight exceptions, most of what's happening I'd rather keep just within my family. There were polite though, at least the nurse we spoke to was, who came out after the squirly guy unlocked the door and opened it just to fit his face through to say "Can I HELP you?" Bah. I spoke to Daddy afterwards and discussed what little she had been able to tell us, and he agreed that it was probably for the better right now. He's trying to keep busy to not think about it so much, but anyway. The nurse gave us the Nurses' station number and suggested we call tomorrow to see if he could have any visitors yet before coming all the way out. So we'll see...

After that, we decided to drive up to Saratoga and go suprise my Grandma. Grandma and grandpa both weren't home, so we thought everyone might be at Aunt Dawn/Uncle Jim's and took a drive over there - but again, no one. As we were getting ready to leave, right as I was walking up to the house to put a note saying we'd stop by on the door, Grandma and Grandpa pull in the driveway, and a few minutes after we make our way into the house, Aunt Dawn and everyone else show up. It was nice to all just hang out and talk and such. I thought it might be weird, but it really wasn't. I had a lot of fun, and it felt so good to be surrounded by my family.

I could ramble on forever, but I'm exhausted and going to bed. I'm so sleepy, even though Joe is coming home tonight (he's sick of being at the Cabin by himself, since Bob's been up here 'cause of everything) I'm not even waiting up for him to get here. Of course, if I did that, it'd be almost midnight by the time he got here, and midnight + waking up at 6am just don't mesh well.

So off to bed I go!

Much Love,
YjaxieY

|