Recap, etc

Monday, May. 24, 2004 at 10:27 a.m.

Sitting in the library at school as we speak... I should still be in my first class right now, but the professor (who's cool, and I'll get to that in a minute) let us out early to kind of give us a break on the first day. Very thoughtful. Somehow, though, I feel the other professors won't be so forgiving. ;)

So.. my first class. An intro Anthropology one. (Damn minor requirements... how did I miss an INTRO class of all classes along the way? Don't you generally need intro classes for say, oh, the 300-level courses I've been taking in Anthropology??) Anyhow, it was very nice. Our professor, who has asked us to call her by her first name, Annette, seems really cool. The self-proclaimed daughter of a Canadian diplomat, she's been all around the world, and is currently in the process of getting her PhD from UAlbany in Anthropology. Really nice woman... very interested in hearing our opinions, too. And she acts like she actually cares - maybe she does - and that's always nice. =) I have a partner now, for class discussions we have to do. His name is Chris, and he seems really nice. Also a senior, a Biology major, he's taking 2 last classes this summer to graduate. After class we talked for a little bit and took a walk to the bookstore to see how much the texts were going to be. I think it'll be good. =) Bio's no joke, and anyone who says Organic Chemistry wasn't SO bad isn't afraid of working. So I'll have to really make sure I'm not the slacker in the group. =)

Joe was supposed to meet me about an hour from now to get his grades and give me money for books. Unfortunately, he forgot that he needed to be home today between 10am and 2pm for the cable people to come in and fix whatever's wrong with the cable box. So now I really have nothing to do until my next class at 12:30pm, but it's nice to just hang out here at the computer, I guess. He might be meeting me around 3pm, when I get out of the class, so we can get the books. If that happens, I probably will not go into work this afternoon, since by the time I'd get there, I'd work for an hour before I had to come back for my night class. And really, especially with the price of gas lately, the drive just isn't worth it. Hopefully my supervisors won't be upset, but at this point, I'm not so sure I even care. After this whole computer-internet fiasco thing going on, I'd avoid work at all costs, if I could. I don't want to be talked to. I don't want to be lectured. And I especially don't want to be yelled at, and/or face the possibility of being let go for something so damn stupid. But we'll see what happens. What's done is done, I guess. Hmmm.

Waitin' for Mom to email me back right now... I asked her if I could have like $78 for my one book, 'cause the $100 or so that Joe is going to give me should be enough for the other two classes I need... I hope, anyway. I hate asking my mother for money. God. I need to do something about this. Maybe I WILL look into getting a second job, but not during this session. I'm already really working 2 jobs, it seems. School and work. Though Lord knows, if I could get paid to go to school, I would. I love learning. It's just tests that kind of freak me out.

So blah blah blah, and so on and so forth. I wish I could make a Pink Elephant with the super neat drink shaker my best babe got me. =) A little vodka wouldn't be such a bad thing right now. But I'll settle for my Coke.

Last night was fun, by the way. After hanging out for some time by myself, Joe and Bob came home. Then we all went down to Saugerties (which is about an hour away) so they could go to one of the jam sessions. I got to eat a good turkey burger and have a glass of wine, which is nice. =) Came home and went to bed. You know, the usual.

Okay, enough babble. I guess the one good thing about being so busy the next few weeks is that it'll hopefully make the time fly by. =) I'll keep my fingers crossed... =)

LOVE!

Much Love,
YjaxieY

|