On sucky jobs and flatness

Monday, May. 17, 2004 at 11:59 p.m.

It's been kind of a rough day.

First, I was extremely irritated at work, mostly by the people. I was talking to my friend Andrew, who is also an intern there with me... I just can't stand my job anymore. Seriously. Basically, what my job is, is to do whatever they ask me to. Because I'm a quick learner and one of the only people who doesn't put up a stink when asked to do something, my job varies. One day I could be stamping in mail, the next doing outgoing certified, another day helping with the check desk, or setting up rooms and driving the car. Most of the time, however, I'm stuck with the mail. The job in itself isn't horrendous. Hell, bring some CDs to work, and you can fly by and do one tray of mail per hour. (Of course, myself and one other intern, Mike, are really the only ones capable of this, because we're the only ones who just do the work instead of gabbing and/or reading the contents of the mail) But my intelligence is so far above this, not to sound conceited. I can't be happy stamping mail, and gossipping. In IO Psy, we learned that the best way to motivate people is by offering challenging (but not impossible) taska that are specific. Well, my job may be mostly specific, but it's FAR from challenging. And I get bored. And when I get bored, I browse online. But because the internet is only 'for state purposes', if you're online too long, you get in trouble. It's a lose-lose situation. I'm mentally going insane, and the people I work with are not exactly the nicest people ever. Most of them are two-faced, and won't waste a moment laughing and joking with you one minute, and the next talking shit about you behind your back. Everything together makes going to work a dismal experience every. single. day. But I need this job, at least til I can graduate from UAlbany. No other job would be so flexible with my hours. But you can damn well bet that I'm even more determined than ever to graduate early and get out of debt so I can move far away from here and never have to resort to a state job again. Unless maybe it's doing something productive, like the HR department. But even that isn't something I want to do. I want to help people, plain and simple - that's my calling. Luckily, summer classes should keep my brain entertained and from going to mush. I'm hoping, anyway.

After work was better. I went to Joe's, we had dinner, just chilled out and talked. Then we went over to the pond and fed the ducks, and that was relaxing and great! (Though everytime I see a duck, I can't help but think of Jenn and the massive ducks that were stalking us out by her town that one time :P) We ran some errands, watched a bit of TV, then took a couple-hour nap. I woke up, got in my car, and went to drive away when I realized that my car was NOT acting right. I got about a half of a block before I realized that something was majorly wrong, and got out to look.

I had a flat tire.

That sucked. My mother wasn't kidding when she told me that cars were a pain in the you-know-what. I called Joe, and he was pissed and lectured me, because for the past month he's been telling me to get my tires rotated, and blah blah blah. (I think Mama B felt really bad for me. She wasn't too happy with the way he was carrying on about it, and gave me the sympathetic "It's OK, honey" look that only mothers are capable of giving.) Well, there turns out to be a screw stuck in my tire. I have no idea how I got there, but that hopefully means we can get it 'plugged' tomorrow, instead of having to buy a whole new tire. Because Hyundai (God bless them) are a bunch of bitches and put $130 tires on the Elantra that are really more of the quality that like a VW should have. Let's keep our fingers crossed that they can plug it. I get paid on Wednesday, but I'll barely have enough to pay Mom, my cell, and have money to get to MA and give Jenn the money for the ticket. I might even have to consider having Mom lend me some money, just in case. 'Cause this paycheck is the one I'm getting from when I was sick, and missed a few days of work. I don't think it's going to be pretty. I'm stressed. :(

And if all that wasn't bad enough, I have PMS.

So on THAT note, Jenn - hope you did well on your exams, babe. Tried to call you, but your phone was off. Everyone else, have a good night. Thank God it's actually morning. I could use a fresh start.

Much Love,
YjaxieY

|