An elaboration

Tuesday, May. 04, 2004 at 12:47 p.m.

Ah yes... so. Pneumonia.

It really started yesterday morning, when I woke up in a coughing fit and just could not stop. That's when the pain in my chest (directly under my right boob) became constant when I breathed in or out, but most especially when I sneezed or coughed. It was literally unbearable, and I have a pretty high tolerance for pain. At Joe's house while I was working on my paper, it was starting to get ridiculous. And by the time we were on our way to my house around 6:30ish, I knew when I got home I had to go to the doctor, which Joe whole-heartedly agreed to because he's been sick of watching me be in pain and thought it wouldn't hurt at least to go get checked out.

So we went to the Urgent Care center. Mom went to get looked at too, 'cause she's been sick for a good few weeks now. (Turns out that she has sinusitis, so they hooked her up with meds, too) The doctor looked at me, examined, listened to my breathing, then put pressure on both my right side and chest. He gave me a piece of paper and told me that he wanted me to go down the hall and have them do a chest x-ray, because he was afraid that I had pneumonia. I went down, got it done, and when we came back, he said it looked like there was a patch of it in my right lung, kind of at the more bottom end of my chest region, which is where most of the pain was coming from. So luckily we went in and caught it, before it had a chance to spread. Now I'm on medicine, as well as codene to help with the coughing and the pain. It doesn't seem to really eliminate the pain, but it definitley makes it tolerable, so that's okay by me!

I had pneumonia one other time when I was little, and it was really bad.. I had the whole shebang - blazing fever hovering around 104, both lungs, etc... they put me in an oxygen bubble and I really don't remember too much about the whole experience except that it was hard to breathe, there were lots of doctors poking and prodding me, and I got to drink lots of Hawaiian Punch and eat Popsicles. They must've had me doped up pretty good back then too, 'cause now I only have like half a lung infected, and it's so unbelievably painful, and back then it was both... so go figure! Gah!

The codene makes me sleepy and gives me kind of a warm feeling in my neck... luckily work isn't too busy today, so I should be able to just relax and maybe they won't be upset if I drift off to sleep. I just want to feel better.

I'm just glad we went last night before it had a chance to get worse. That's all I need before finals and KISS Concert. (Right Jenn? :P)

I'm eating a salad now because the medicines make me feel a bit queasy. So I should get back to that.

Thank you for all your love and support. =) (Especially my Jenn and cyanideeyes :P)

Much Love,
YjaxieY

|