Another Day

Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004 at 10:35 a.m.

Things are a bit better in this direction today. (Thanks jenn-babe! I bet it was your get-well vibes that did it :P) I went to the doctor yesterday.. I didn't really like it so much. My doctor, Pam, is wicked cool - her and I always get around to talk about anything and everything, no matter how sick I am. But for whatever reason, some guy doctor came in to see me instead. I just wanted him to look at my lip and see if it was a cold sore or not, because it hadn't come through yet, my lip was just really swollen and it was weird and I've never had that happen before. Anyway, he comes in and looks at my lip, and then he's like, "So what are you doing about this?" (pointing to my face, which had been red and blotchy from crying to Mom along with the remaining acne, which has since gotten SO MUCH BETTER since I've been on Accutane the last 20 days or so) Anyhow, I told him I was on Accutane, and he starts asking me all these questions. When did I start it. What dose am I on? Yadda yadda. Like I remember all those details normally, and he expects me to remember them sick? Whatever. The clincher was when he was like, "You're not sexually active, are you?" ?!?!?! I don't see why that was any of his business, because OBVIOUSLY if my derm gave me the script to get Accutane in the first place, I've had to get pregnancy tests and blood work done to begin with. And she would've had to inform me, and even if she didn't, the 2 or 3 conset forms I had to sign sure did warn me about the risks of pregnancy. Regardless, I told him yes as politely as I could muster, and that Karen (my derm) had already went over everything with me. (Duh, dude.)

I mean, it wasn't anything major. But there's something to be said for the comfort that comes from seeing YOUR doctor who knows you and what medicines you're on and whether or not you're having sex, so you don't have to be questioned by some stranger when all you came in for was to have your lip checked out. Don't get me wrong, he was a really nice guy and just trying to do his job, I'm sure, but it was just weird. And I didn't like it.

However, my Swollen Lip has since turned into a cold sore, bloody hell. I think it happened 'cause like a year ago, I bought some Carmex, which I adore as far as medicated chapstick goes, and a few days ago I found an old one.. And dumb me, instead of just throwing it away was all, "Oh goody!! Now I'll have TWO", and stupidly used it, so I think I re-infected myself. Arg. This morning I stopped by the store on the way to work to pick up Abreva to see if it helps. And just for the record, it damn well better because it cost me $16 for a tube about half the length of my pinky finger. We'll see.

I'm sure that's what you all wanted to hear about, huh? Sorry. :o)

Today classes get out around noon-ish for Rosh Hashannah, and we have the rest of the week off. Becky's b-day is either today or tomorrow (I thought it was tomorrow, but she called yesterday to ask if I wanted to go out and celebrate today, so now I'm not sure) so I'll probably see her this evening. I'm gonna go see Joe in a little while, and then I have a hair appointment at 1pm, 'cause I have MAJOR spilt-endage happening, and I'm ready to just deal with it and make it look nice. (And a little bit shorter, too) Joe told me he thinks I'd look really good if I cut my hair to my shortest layer, which is just a little longer than chin length... I'm not so sure I can deal with that drastic of a change, 'cause I remember the LAST time I cut my hair to above-shoulder-length, I cried all freakin' summer whenever I saw anyone with long hair. It was traumatic. So I think I'll go for my 2nd-3rd longest layer - it'll put my hair just below shoulder-length, which is short enough for Joe to see me with shorter hair, and long enough for me to feel like a sex-kitten still. rAr. It'll only be 2-3 inches at most chopped off, and since hair grows like a 1/2 inch every month, I can handle that time frame. Plus, Nicole always does it so nice. So I'm not really worried.

Anyhow, I'm going to go eat lunch, and then check on my Ella-hammie - seems she's having a bad dream or something, poor thing. I get sad when I think about things and realize that I really only have a good year or two left with my hammies before I have to worry about them going off to Hammie Heaven. Sad. :o( No sad thoughts. Bah!

Hope everyone has a good day! Jenn I love you and be careful. :o)

Much Love,
YjaxieY

|